Ripping up my Home…

Linen Skirt, crop top, leather mules outfit post

Linen Skirt, crop top, leather mules outfit post

fullsizeoutput_bf

Linen Skirt, crop top, leather mules outfit post

Top: Blush | Skirt: Banana Republic  {SIMILAR}| Mules: {SIMILAR} {SIMILAR} | Sunnies: Ray Bans

Today I write with a heavy, and frightened heart. I’ve actually been staring at my laptop, coming up with very average blog post ideas for about 4 hours, but all I truly want to write about is my family — so that’s what I’ll do.

Hurricane Irma is quickly, and violently, approaching my hometown of Tampa, FL. Half of my family has evacuated to higher ground, but they’re all essentially still in Tampa. I worry, not about the things – those can be replaced & are insured, but more about my dad’s home, and the memories we’ve made there over the last few years. Nothing will ever take those away from my mind, but as I’m a sentimental type of human, reliving them when I go home for the holidays is one of my favorite things.

I love sitting on the porch where my dad married the love of his life, Lise, in front of all of our family & friends, and remembering the sheer joy on his face. The goodbyes in the driveway, always at the crack of dawn before I left to come back to Nashville. Sitting at my dad’s bar in the man-cave, talking for hours about nonsense, troubles, loves, and sipping on his newest favorite bourbon. I remember sitting at the kitchen counter, while my soon to be step mom, Lise, told me that I could do anything I wanted to, and if that was move somewhere I didn’t know a soul – I should try, and that I would get through whatever was ripping me apart emotionally at the time.

While I know that my mom and that side of my family is on higher ground, I’m still riddled with worry about the damage that could still happen around them.

As I sit on my porch writing this in the most beautiful weather that Nashville has seen all year, glued to my phone and computer for updates, I know that my home town is about to have immense destruction done to it over the next 24 hours.  That truly scares me. I’m a serial control freak, and being so removed from such a major event is really affecting me this weekend. I hate not being able to help at all – I’m not a sit and wait kind of girl.

I’m not a big religious person, but I pray that my family and friends are safe – and get through this unscathed. I pray for all of Florida.

Worried, anxious, hopeful, & praying,

—Tay

7 thoughts on “Ripping up my Home…

  1. I’m in Knoxville definitely thinking of you and your family during this stressful time! I hope the damage is not too extreme and that everything goes back to normal as quickly as possible!

    Like

    1. Kaiti– thank you so much for the kind words and thoughts. My family is all safe, and their homes have very minor damage and light flooding. Keep praying for the families more in south Florida… they got it a lot worse than Tampa did.

      Xo Tay

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My grandma actually lives (part time) in Ft. Myers, but I can’t even imagine how terrifying it must be right now. I’m glad you and yours are safe!

        Like

Leave a Reply

